Quantcast
Channel: Mice and Mystics | BoardGameGeek
Viewing all 23501 articles
Browse latest View live

Reply: Mice and Mystics:: General:: Re: Broken Centipede

$
0
0

by RedV

I scratched at the tab that holds the pieces together to get the old glue off. I then tried again with a different type of glue I found in the house called UHU. This seemed to do the trick. Thanks for the advice.

Reply: Mice and Mystics:: General:: Re: Any news on the new expansions?

$
0
0

by Chiken Bird

nobeerblues wrote:

crusher100 wrote:

Hello

Please can anyone post information about the new expansions that were planned for this awesome game?


I have a few things planned:

I have been working on 2 lost chapters that will be available to download from PHG website. One deals with Collins search for his father, the other deals with some intruders in the castle.

There is a small lower priced expansion in the final editing stages. This one is called Heart of Glorm and takes place in the castle a short time after the events in the first story book. This one has just six chapters and comes with a new mouse Druid named Nere' and a villain figure for the boss minion known as Glorm. There will be some new search cards, some new abilities, and new minion initiative cards etc. we will do a press release when we know more about the release time frame.

Now in development is a large sized forest expansion tentatively called The Downwood Tales. This is a large expansion that will come with a bunch of new figures including 3 new heroes, 8 new tiles depicting outdoor environments. There will be a bunch of new search cards, new abilities, new minions etc. this expansion will have all new challenges for the mice as they have to accomplish the various story goals.




Any idea what the price points will be for the expansions?

Reply: Mice and Mystics:: General:: Re: Broken Centipede

$
0
0

by reitoei

Most minis-guys will say that any CA (Cyanoacrylate) glue will do the trick. I use Loctite on my other minis, can't imagine it wouldn't work on M&M figures (just got my set - waiting for the wife to go on a work trip so I can surprise her with a finished painted set when she gets back).

So check your hardware store or FLGS (if they're well-fitted for minis) for any Cyanoacrylate super glue, and you should be set.

Reply: Mice and Mystics:: General:: Re: Need help deciding whether to buy or not

$
0
0

by cree47

Jeff, I thought I would let you know that yes it does play well solo. It also plays well with kids. My four and six year old love it. The four year old needs some extra help but my six year old reminds me of rules and abilities as I forget them. My wife has gotten burned out on games of late and she'll even jump in on a game from time to time. I recently introduced it to a teenage friend and he loved it as well. Obviously with my children playing it, the complexity level is low and theme is dripping from this game. It's very likely that this game will work well for you.

Reply: Mice and Mystics:: General:: Re: Need help deciding whether to buy or not

$
0
0

by AvidHunter

cree47 wrote:

Jeff, I thought I would let you know that yes it does play well solo. It also plays well with kids. My four and six year old love it. The four year old needs some extra help but my six year old reminds me of rules and abilities as I forget them. My wife has gotten burned out on games of late and she'll even jump in on a game from time to time. I recently introduced it to a teenage friend and he loved it as well. Obviously with my children playing it, the complexity level is low and theme is dripping from this game. It's very likely that this game will work well for you.


I hope so it's about to be delivered today :D


Thread: Mice and Mystics:: Rules:: When can items be used?

$
0
0

by organiclockwork

Hi guys, quick rules question. Maybe I'm just blind, but I don't see anywhere in the rulebook that states when items (such as the Tinkerer's Treasure, which is what sparked this post) can be used. Can anyone enlighten me? Thanks!

Reply: Mice and Mystics:: Rules:: Re: When can items be used?

$
0
0

by Lochi

You may use Tinkerer's Treasure anytime during your turn, it's kind of a free action but I don't think it's restricted to non-water spaces.

Reply: Mice and Mystics:: Rules:: Re: Chapter 2 Surges and Mousetraps Proxies

$
0
0

by youperguy

Chapter 2 is different then say chapter 4.

Lilly has special rules. Look on the lower left of page 9, point 3. When a surge occurs you place the surge minions (-1 if its rats) with the party, and place a roach with Lilly.




Reply: Mice and Mystics:: Rules:: Re: When can items be used?

Reply: Mice and Mystics:: Rules:: Re: Chapter 2 Surges and Mousetraps Proxies

$
0
0

by Alderdust

imburnknuckle wrote:

That's sounds like really bad luck to me. I'm not sure about the ruling as well but if the surge got triggered on Lily's tile, I would have to put that surge minion on that tile. That would only happen if Lily was not hitting the roaches or rats though. Remember that, if Lily is using Lily's Bow (I suppose she is since chapter 2 is the first time you would meet her) then any cheese rolled by the minions while defending should go to her stash. So cheese would only get added to the wheel if the minions are able to attack her somehow and roll cheese. I might be missing something from your scenario though. ranged minions on lily's tile perhaps?

I would also use a mouse trap proxy if it came to that. We did not experience that though during our game...



No I understand the cheese is not added from lilys tile but the FAQ document stated the surge minion goes on the tile with the mouse that is last on the initiative track and if that's lily that would mean her right? And that would mean she would have to possibly solo a spider or centipede or rats.

Reply: Mice and Mystics:: Rules:: Re: Chapter 2 Surges and Mousetraps Proxies

$
0
0

by Alderdust

thefred138 wrote:

I don't have the rules (or Quest Guide, for that matter) on hand, but we just completed this Chapter over the weekend.I believe that in the Chapter 2 special set-up instructions,it specifies that a surge happens on the tile where your party is located. I think the key is to remember that Lily isn't considered part of the party since she is captured.

Per those those instructions (again, I'm going off of memory here) if the surge consists of small minions, you place all but one of the minions as normal and then add a cockroach to Lily's tile for her to deal with. If the surge is a large minion, that minion gets placed as normal and an additional cockroach is added to Lily's tile. So, if a surge occurred that called for 4 rat warriors, you would place 3 warriors on the tile where your party is currently located and a single cockroach on Lily's tile. Otherwise, you won't place any minions on that tile until your party enters the square, and a large minion cannot be added for Lily to deal with on her own. As we found out over the weekend, it is definitely possible for more than one roach to be on her tile and going after just her, however!

As I said before, I think the confusion might be because it sounds like you were considering Lily to be a party member, which is a mistake we made the first time we played as well. I believe (again, without the rules in front of me) that your "party" is necessarily always on the same tile, since any explore action taken by a mouse moves the entire party to the new tile.

As for the third mouse trap, we had the same issue come up and dealt with it as you did. We both thought it was a little odd that there wasn't an extra included in the box.

Then again, I could be mistaken as well.


I think you are confusing surges with encounter cards. I understand the minion placement for encounters just not the surge placement according to the FAQ document in chapter 2 section.

Reply: Mice and Mystics:: General:: Re: Broken Centipede

Reply: Mice and Mystics:: Rules:: Re: Chapter 2 Surges and Mousetraps Proxies

$
0
0

by Alderdust

youperguy wrote:

Chapter 2 is different then say chapter 4.

Lilly has special rules. Look on the lower left of page 9, point 3. When a surge occurs you place the surge minions (-1 if its rats) with the party, and place a roach with Lilly.





It says that for surges specifically? I thought that was only for encounters.

Reply: Mice and Mystics:: Rules:: Re: Chapter 2 Surges and Mousetraps Proxies

$
0
0

by youperguy

It says encounter cards. Remember that surges also come from encounter cards.

Reply: Mice and Mystics:: Rules:: Re: When can items be used?

$
0
0

by organiclockwork

Thanks for the replies, though I was kind of wondering when items in general can be used, not only Tinkerer's Treasure; it just happened to be the card that sparked this question. So let me rephrase: Is it safe to assume that items can be used anytime on your turn unless the card states otherwise?

Reply: Mice and Mystics:: General:: Re: cards size - FFG sleeves

$
0
0

by Alderdust

murksofus wrote:

Alderdust wrote:

dorelas wrote:

Sorry for this apparently dumb question but in my own defence: it has been asked often enough here on bgg as well as on Plaid Hat forums and it has never been answered in a non-contradictory concise manner.

i want to find proper sleeves for this game and unfortunatley i dont have it by hand.
i need the size for the SMALL cards in the game , and if you happen to know , i would like to know which sleeve colour from FFG would be appropriate form them.

Can you also please tell me the TOTAL AMOUNT of small cards in the game? i am not sure which names represent which size in the game's content description.

Thanks in advance.



The mini European sleeves (red package) fit the small cards perfectly. They are from FFG.

There are 19 Initiative Cards and 28 Mouse Ability Cards. These are the only small cards. So 47 Total.

Also just for future reference of anyone else looking at this thread the green FFG sleeves (Standard American board game) are perfect for the standard size cards.

There are 89 total normal card sizes (18 x Encounter Cards) and (71x Search Cards) dont forget to add 2 more incase you have the 2 promo cards.

If you are looking for Mayday Sleeves use the Mayday green sleeves for the standard sleeves and the mini Euro sleeves which are the Mayday blue for the smaller card sleeves.


Hm, I used the grey FFG "Standard Card Game" sleeves, and they fit perfectly. I'd imagine the green sleeves a bit small for the standard cards...


I'm sorry you are right I meant to write gray and was thinking about the mayday sleeves a bit too much I guess I have those and they work awesome!

Thread: Mice and Mystics:: Rules:: Roll Die when Exploring?

$
0
0

by pishposh

When performing an Explore action does the player roll a die to determine if the explore was successful?

From the rulebook, emphasis added:

(page 12)
When a mouse is on a space adjacent to an exit area, it can use an explore action to attempt to move to a new tile.

(page 13)
When a mouse successfully performs an explore action...

From the above rulebook statements, I would think the player needs to roll a *(star) on the die to successfully explore to the next tile.

Reply: Mice and Mystics:: Rules:: Re: Roll Die when Exploring?

$
0
0

by imburnknuckle

You do not need to roll when exploring. Just keep playing through the story and you'll see why those rules are there. ;)

Reply: Mice and Mystics:: Rules:: Re: When can items be used?

$
0
0

by RMGreen

Yes. If the card requires an action to use, it will say so. Otherwise, it can be used without an action (for free, essentially).

Reply: Mice and Mystics:: Rules:: Re: Roll Die when Exploring?

$
0
0

by Hahma

pishposh wrote:

When performing an Explore action does the player roll a die to determine if the explore was successful?

From the rulebook, emphasis added:

(page 12)
When a mouse is on a space adjacent to an exit area, it can use an explore action to attempt to move to a new tile.

(page 13)
When a mouse successfully performs an explore action...

From the above rulebook statements, I would think the player needs to roll a *(star) on the die to successfully explore to the next tile.


There's nothing in the rules that say that you need to roll the dice to explore. There is however an illustration and explanation of how the explore action works on pages 12 and 13. At the bottom of page 12 it explains that if there are two tiles that have different colored exit areas you can't move into the other tile, but you can flip the tile that they want to move onto over and see if there is a matching exit space aligned with the one you are attempting to explore from. If there is a matching exit area of the same color and aligned with the one you are leaving from, then you can successfully explore into the new tile.

So that's where the attempting and successfully explore terms come from. Often you can use the flip space to go to the other side of the tile you are on, but sometimes you can move to the exit and to flip the adjacent tile to attempt to move on that way instead of via the flip space.
Viewing all 23501 articles
Browse latest View live


<script src="https://jsc.adskeeper.com/r/s/rssing.com.1596347.js" async> </script>